The format of Talking Philanthropy, fosters problem-solving and encourages innovation and creative ideas. Speakers and attendees identify challenges and discuss solutions through talks, panels, and Q&A sessions. Talking Philanthropy provides an opportunity for participants to take time to think beyond the day-to-day of their work, reflect on the sector and how it impacts the world.

Our theme for 2021 is “Asia Pacific: Supporting a Philanthropic Ecosystem”, we will look at wealth distribution and the dramatic growth of Ultra High Net Worth Individuals (HNWI) in the Asia/Pacific region, the roles of development organisations, NGOs, governments, philanthropists, and the charity sector in nurturing the philanthropic ecosystem.

Talking Philanthropy 2021 will be a multi-regional, hybrid, virtual event, co-hosted jointly by the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, National University of Singapore and the University of Cambridge Judge Business School, as well as hosting online participants across the world.

Talking Philanthropy Programme - May 14th, 2021

The programme is available with multiple time zone conversions – download it here.

Welcome Message
1.30 PM SGT | 6.30 AM BST

A welcome message from Kirsty Lang, Talking Philanthropy anchor.

Welcome message from the President of NUS, Tan Eng Chye, and
the Vice-Chancellor of Cambridge University, Stephen Toope.

Opening Address:

Ban Ki-moon – 8th Secretary General of the United Nations and Chairman of the Ban Ki-moon Foundation for a Better Future


Education Panel
2 PM SGT | 7 AM BST

Patrick Hurworth – Head of International School of Beijing (ISB)
Peter Mathieson – Vice Chancellor Edinburgh University, former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Hong Kong
Daisy Liu – President of the Bin Lin and Daisy Liu Foundation
Kathleen Chew – Programme Director of YTL Foundation, Group Legal Counsel, YLT corporation
Nick Jaffer – CEO of Global Philanthropic Asia-Pacific
Harold Kim – CEO of Neo Risk Investment Advisors, Board of Managers Hong Kong International School


Tsinghua University PBCSF –
The Philanthropy of Chinese Ultra-High-Net-Worth Families

2.45 PM SGT | 7.45 AM BST

Research presentation from the People’s Bank of China School of Finance at Tsinghua University.
Contextualizing current philanthropy trends in China.

Jiawei Ye – Lead of Family Business Community at the WEF, Senior Research Fellow PBCSF Tsinghua University
Gao Hao – Director of Global Family Business Research Center, Tsinghua University PBC School of Finance
Lei Xu– Research Fellow, Global Family Business Research Center, PBCSF Tsinghua University
Ruixi Hao – Program Officer, Philanthropic Partnerships, Gates Foundation China


Centre for Asian Philanthropy and Society –
Doing Good Index 2020

3.15 PM SGT | 8.15 AM BST

Current research into the trends in philanthropy across Asia-Pacific.

Ruth Shapiro – Centre for Asian Philanthropy and Society (CAPS)


Interview with Kris Putnam-Walkerly
3.50 PM SGT | 8.50 AM BST

Global context – Attitudes to philanthropy and the response to Covid-19

Kris Putnam-Walkerly – Author of Delusional Altruism:
Why Philanthropists Fail To Achieve Change and What They Can Do To Transform Giving
Ben Morton Wright – Founder & Group CEO Global Philanthropic


Birdlife International Case Study
3.55 PM SGT | 8.55 AM BST

Case study on the East Asia/Australasia Flyways by BirdLife International


Environment Panel
4 PM SGT | 9 AM BST

Patricia Zurita – CEO BirdLife International
Kavita Prakash-Mani – CEO Mandai Nature Fund Singapore
Laurence Lien – Co-founder and CEO, Asia Philanthropy Circle
Benjamin Cashore – Li Ka Shing Professor in Public Management and Co-Director, Institute of Water Policy, Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy
Pam Davis – President of Europe, Global Philanthropic


Centre for Strategic Philanthropy Presentation –
Philanthropy and COVID-19: Is the North-South Power Balance Finally Shifting?

4.45 PM SGT | 9.45 AM BST

Introduction by founding Patron Badr Jaffar, on the establishment of the Centre for Strategic Philanthropy, focus on emerging markets in South East Asia, thoughts on the key challenges and opportunities of philanthropy in these markets.

Clare Woodcraft – Executive Director, Centre for Strategic Philanthropy
Kamal Munir – Academic Director, Centre for Strategic Philanthropy


Community Jameel Case Study
5.10 PM SGT | 10.10 AM BST

George Richards – Director of Community Jameel


Professor Louise Richardson interview with Kirsty Lang – Philanthropy for Health Research
5.25 PM SGT | 10.25 AM BST

Louise Richardson – Vice-Chancellor of the University of Oxford


United Nations Foundation Case Study
5.45 PM SGT | 10.45 AM BST

Case study on the Covid-19 Solidarity Response Fund by the United Nations Foundation

Kate Dodson – Vice President, Global Health Strategy, United Nations Foundation
Rajesh Mirchandani – Chief Communications Officer, United Nations Foundation
Robyn Mendez – Vice President, Product Marketing, Tiltify


Health Panel
6 PM SGT | 11 AM BST

Narayana Murthy – Founder of Infosys Ltd, Board member United Nations Foundation
Kate Dodson – Vice President for Global Health at the United Nations Foundation
Naina Subberwal Batra – CEO of Asian Venture Philanthropy Network
Kayla Laserson – Deputy Director of Infectious Diseases & Vaccine Delivery, Bill & Melinda Gates India office.
Belinda Tanoto – Board of Trustees, Tanoto Foundation
Melody Song – Consultant, Global Philanthropic


Professor Yap Seng Chong interview with Kirsty Lang – Philanthropy for Health Research
6.45 PM SGT | 11.45 AM BST

Yap Seng Chong – Dean, Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, National University of Singapore


Presentation of the Philanthropy Awards
7.00 SGT | 12.00 PM BST

Presented by the previous winner, Geoff Holt MBE, DL
and the President & Group CEO of Global Philanthropic, Ben Morton Wright.


Reflections on the day and closing remarks
7.10 PM SGT | 12.10 PM BST

Reflections on the day
Iain Rawlinson – Board Director and Chair, Global Philanthropic
Jean Sung – Head of the Philanthropy Centre, Asia, J.P. Morgan Private Bank

Closing Remarks
Ben Morton Wright – Founder & Group CEO Global Philanthropic
Clare Woodcraft – Executive Director Centre for Strategic Philanthropy
Danny Quah – Dean and Li Ka Shing Professor in Economics, Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy

To secure your complimentary place, register here for Talking Philanthropy – 14th May 2021.

Register here